InSpurrational Award Winners 1996-2021

The mountain runners' inspirational award is named after Robert Spurr, a man famous for being the first person to run a time on Bird Ridge under his age. He was such an inspiration that after his death from a fall in Colorado in 1995, the Bird Ridge race was re-named the Robert Spurr Memorial Hill Climb. Talk of his mountain running exploits on mountains such as Wolverine and Bird Ridge went far and wide. Keeping with the Robert Spurr tradition, AMR annually awards an "In-Spurr-ational" award to exceptional mountain runners who encourage and motivate as Robert did. Below is a list of the past recipients:

Previous In-Spurr-ational awardees:

1996 — Tim Neale

1997 — Tom Corbin

1998 — Barney Griffith

1999 — Pam Richter

2000 — Heinrich Gruber

2001 — Ellyn Brown

2002 — Alan "Corky" Corthell

2003 — Craig Harpel

2004 — Cedar Bourgeois

2005 — Joe Mortiboy

2006 — Norm Johnson

2007 — Braun & Lance Kopsack

2008 — Trond Flagstad

2009 — Greg Brown

2010 — Fred Moore

2011 — Elaine Nelson

2012 — Mary Hensel & Millie Spezialy

2013 — Eric Strabel

2014 — Matt Kenney

2015 — Brad Precosky

2016 — Christy Marvin

2017 — Evan Steinhauser

2018 — Matias Saari

2019 — Michael Connelly

2020 — No award due to pandemic

2021 — Bill Spencer